Previous Graduate Students

Earl Dowell

Samuel "Chad" Gibbs, McKinsey & Company

Ben Goldman, Global Aerospace Corporation

Ivan Wang, Capire Micropower

Justin Jaworski, University of Cambridge

Justin is a member of the Waves research group in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP). His current research interests include the aeroacoustics of owls, the aerodynamic performance of flapping membrane wings in low Reynolds number flow, the nonlinear aeroelastic behavior of high-aspect-ratio wings, and microscale power generation.

Maciej Balajewicz, Post Doctoral Fellow, Stanford

Maciej is a postdoctoral scholar at the Farhat Research Group (FRG) in the Aeronautics and Astronautics Department at Stanford University. His current research interests include model order reduction for fluid-structure interactions and high Reynolds number fluid flows.

Chad Custer, CD Adapco

Howard Conyers, NASA Stennis Space Center

Peter Attar, Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma

Dr. Attar works in the area of computational mechanics, nonlinear dynamics, fluid-structure interaction and uncertainty quantification. CBN-related activities include computational mechanics and uncertainty modeling of the optic nerve head and investigations into the fluid-structure interaction mechanics of abdominal aortic aneurysms.

Bogdan Epureanu, Associate Professor, University of Michigan

Aldo Ferri, Associate Professor, Georgia Tech

Benson Tongue, Professor, University of California at Berkeley

Jennifer Heeg, NASA Langley Research Center

Karen Lyle, NASA Langley Research Center

Chuck Pezeshki, Professor, Washington State University

Kenneth C. Hall

Eli Giovanetti, McKinsey & Company

Robert E. Kielb

Jing Li, GE Global Research Center, Niskayuna, NY

Joshua Waite, McKinsey & Company

Fanny M. Besem, Application and Consultant Engineer, Numeca International, San Francisco, California

During her four years at Duke, Fanny's research focused on non-synchronous vibration and forced response in turbomachinery. Her work was financially supported by an Amelia Earhart Fellowship from Zonta International and by the GUIde 5 Consortium. 

Stephen T. Clark, McKinsey & Company

As a graduate student at Duke, Stephen was awarded a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship and a graduate NASA Space Research Grant which supported his research on non-synchronous vibration in turbomachinery.

Tommy Miyakozawa, Aeromechanics Specialist, Rolls-Royce, Derby, England

Meredith Spiker, Aeromechanics Specialist, General Electric Aviation, Boston, Mass

Donald B. Bliss

Krista Michalis, Naval Surface Warfare Center